RAAAAIIINNN!!!!

Constant humid rain is depressing me and not doing my cough much good either. (Chest cold. Yay.) Feels like I’m trying to breathe soup. At least the mold and cockroaches are happy and thriving. Bleargh. RELIEF is coming this weekend as winter finally begins to set in. And then I’ll whine about my heating bill. Boo hoo.

BUT the box set that I popped ‘B’ in is doing very well on Amazon. Here’s the rankings…

#368 Free in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Free in Kindle Store)
#2 in Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Children’s eBooks > Growing Up & Facts of Life > Friendship, Social Skills & School Life > Boys & Men
#2 in Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Children’s eBooks > Mysteries & Detectives

So there’s another tip for those of you thinking about self publishing. Box sets are usually engineered by people who are aggressively into their marketing strategies and eager to surround their own work with talent. The talent has FANS and they market the set to them, too. For a newb like me there’s no downside. I just latch onto everyone else’s coattails and wave. I will, however, return the favor as soon as I can. I’ve really been spoiled by fandom. You can write a fic and there’s an audience ready and eager for it. Creating a fandom around MYSELF is an ongoing struggle. And it’ll take years. Silly me (to put it mildly) to think I’d make a profit within months of publishing.

More good news, I got my new Kindle! I hate the smears on the touch screen and it won’t do anything without wifi but I’ve got my books back so I’m happy with it. Paper still rocks my world. I need a new bookcase.

ETA: Someone just popped by my desk with this superstition: Thunder in the winter will lead to SNOW within ten days. Yikes! The countdown begins today…

Leave a Reply

